Tags

, ,

image

A few years back, at work we used to gift eachother on Christmas. One year I decided to make homemade or crafted gifts. These gifts were made for both genders.
The ladies received scarfs and some of the men homemade ties, others blankets, ect.

Two weeks after Christmas, I answered the phone and a friend of one of my co-workers wanted to leave a message for her. ” thank you for the lovely beige and brown hand knitted scarf, I simply loved it!”
That was one scarf accounted for. A month later a woman walks into the office. She was the mother of one of my co-workes, she had a handmade scarf on, awfully familiar. I complemented her on her beautiful scarf, “yes is beautiful, isn’t it? My daughter gave it to me for Christmas, she must have had it especially made for me, they cost alot.” After lunch she came back to the office with her daughter, the scarf was missing.
When I gave the scarf to her daughter, the comment was: ” I do not understand why you bother making these things, you can get them for $3.99 at Walmart.” Guess where her gift was from after that!
The blanket I spent months making for a friend and her husband was given to the dog to sleep on, bet he loved it!
The best of it all was :
My mother’s friend years ago she wanted a blanket for her couch, my mom begged me to make it for her. This lady moved, did not like the blanket with her new furniture and packed it away. One day I went to visit my mom and she was all exited about the beautiful handmade blanket her friend had given her. You must forgive them, they are in their 80’s and on the verge of senility. It was the blanket I had made!

I rest my case!